Skip to content

Lessons From My Band’s Single #3) Limit Your Options

February 5, 2014

This is part of a segment of lessons I learned from recording Layton Harper Band’s cover of “Oceans.” Here’s part one and two

We a had nice open space to record drums. We added a room mic for awesomeness.

We a had nice open space to record drums. We added a room mic for awesomeness.

The third take-away from the recording session was simple but hard to apply: Limit your options.

Some of you might be protesting that last statement. “What? Did you just say ‘limit‘? How dare you ever suggest I limit myself!”

I get ya, but hear me out. In this case, limiting yourself is a good thing. Because it gives you more focus.

What am I blabbing about? Well, let’s look at recording the drums.

The drummer for the session, we’ll call him Kristian, is an awesome drummer. So I knew it would be easy to record him.

If there’s one subject I’ve studied more than anything recording-wise, it’s drums. I love drums and I love drum sounds. You can bet that every time I get in front of drum kit with some mics in my hand I want to go crazy. There are so many ways to record drums and I want to try them all every time. Spaced Pair, Coincident, Recorderman, ORTF – I could go on and on!

But I didn’t.

I limited my options. As much as I wanted to spend all day getting drum sounds, I didn’t have all day. I had work to get done so I tried only two and picked the best one. Boom. It sounded good, Kristian liked it, and we went with it. Guess what? Still sounds good.

If I hadn’t limited my options, I’d still be trying to decided between the best technique. Too many options can slow us down, so give yourself two/three and get to work. 

At the end of the series of posts, I’ll attach the finished LHB song. You’ll be able to “hear” what I’m talking about.

For more tips, like/follow Bandology on Facebook and Twitter

From → Articles

Leave a Reply

