Skip to content

3 Things Musicians Should Not Say

March 18, 2014

2014-3-18

1) “Let’s just do something safe that’s been done before.”
If it’s been done before, people will probably prefer the original – not you. Have the courage to create something, not copy.
However, don’t be afraid to take influence from those who’ve gone before you, but don’t give me anything I can get somewhere else. Why? Because if I really want the unoriginal thing you’re selling, I probably already have it. Give me something that I can’t anywhere else.
+How Nintedo Helps Your Band

2) “That’s too hard.”
This one is so important. I’ve already written an entire blog post on it, but it bares repeating. If you or your band is afraid to play a part or song because it will take too much practice, you are a lazy musician. Get up and get to work. Do you expect to get anywhere off of a “it’s convenient” attitude?

3) “It’s not natural for me.”
So the producer asked you to play a cool new part. It’s a different part from what you are already playing. The part that may not be convinient (see #2 above). So you insist “it’s not natural for me.”
So what? Natural is overrated. Playing an instrument is an unnatural, learned skill to begin with – don’t tell me you’ve decided to stop learning, have you? No one comes out of the womb with Beethovin skill. Playing the guitar isn’t a survival trait we learned in the wild. If something is lame, then it’s lame for other reasons. It’s never lame just because it’s outside a small comfort zone that we created. (I am guilty of this too). We must always be willing to improve.

For more tips, like/follow Bandology on Facebook and Twitter

From → Articles

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

