Skip to content

Easy, Effective Way To Tackle Procrastination (The Metal Way)

August 26, 2014

2014-8-17bLet’s start this off with a confession. I suffer from acute procrastination.

“No, I’ll finish writing that song tomorrow.” And tomorrow never comes.

“Mix this song right now? Nah, tomorrow.”  And tomorrow never comes.

It’s happened to me many times, and probably to you too.

Well, here’s the good news. I’ve figured out a great way to tackle procrastination. 

What is it?

You do what any typical metalcore song would do. You break it down. 

What do I mean? Well, the greatest fuel for procrastination is a huge, overwhelming body of work.

The bigger the project, the longer we procrastinate.

To get things done, break down the project into smaller chunks.

For example, I had been trying to finish a song for an EP I’ve recorded. The thought of mixing an entire song was so daunting, I had trouble sitting down and doing it because I felt I needed to do it all at once.

But then I broke it down into smaller steps instead of one huge task. One day I edited the drum tracks. The next day, I cleaned up the vocals. Next time, I did some mixing. And so on.

Don't be like the depressed metalhead. He's sad.

Don’t be like the depressed metalhead. He’s sad.

Boom. Song done.

Have you been putting off that song you need to finish writing? No sweat, just do verse 2. Then come back for more next time.

I’ve been using this strategy a lot lately, and it has helped tremendously!

So how about you? What are things you’ve been procrastinating on? What’s a way you could break it down and get it done? Let me know, I’d love to hear it!

As always, thanks for reading.
by Noah Copeland

(For more cool stuff, like/follow Bandology on Facebook and Twitter)

 

From → Articles

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

